National Moot Court Competition in Child Welfare & Adoption Law


TOPIC: Permanency for Youth in Foster Care: Are There Any Guarantees?

March 11 & 12, 2016
Columbus, Ohio



Congratulations to our Champions!

Team 3: The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law -- Audry Klossner and  Sara Coulter

Best Final Round Oralist: Audry Klossner



Runners Up:

Team 14: Baylor Law School-- Penny Maley and Matthew Swanger



Team 4:  Chicago-Kent College of Law -- Debora Barbosa, Briana Mayes and Ariel Olstein

Team 7: Loyola University Chicago School of Law -- Natalie Weiss and Heather Nelson


Best Briefs:

1st Place: Team 7, Loyola University Chicago School of Law -- Natalie Weiss and Heather Nelson

2nd Place: Team 4, Chicago-Kent College of Law-- Debora Barbosa, Briana Mayes, Ariel Olstein

3rd Place:  Team 23, The John Marshall Law School -- Nicole A. Jaderberg, Ishita Saran




Teams of law students from across the country will demonstrate their advocacy skills as they present legal arguments at the 11th annual National Moot Court Competition in Child Welfare and Adoption Law Friday March 11, 2016 at the Ohio Statehouse and Saturday, March 12, 2016, at the Supreme Court of Ohio Judicial Center. 

Final Round Judges will be representatives from the following partners:  

  • The ABA Center on Children and the Law
  • The American Academy of Adoption Attorneys
  • The Family & Youth Law Center
  • The National Association of Counsel for Children
  • The National Council of Juvenile & Family Court Judges


December 11, 2015: Problem Release Date

February 5, 2016: Brief Due to NCALP (PDF file electronically submitted to FYLaw & 1 hard copy postmarked by)

February 9, 2016: Briefs sent to Judges

February 24, 2016: Briefs back from Judges


Competition Schedule:

Friday March 11th  

8:00 am - 9:30 am
Bye Round
9:00 am - 10:00 am 
Team Check-In   
10:00 am   Team Meeting      
10:30 am – 12:00 pm Round 1     
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Lunch  
1:15 pm – 2:45 pm Round 2
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm Round 3
5:00 pm – 6:30 pm Reception and Awards          

Saturday March 12th →16 teams advance                                                 

9:00 am - 10:30 am
 Round 4
11:00 am - 12:30 pm 
1:30 pm – 3:00 pm Semifinals
3:15 pm – 5:00 pm Finals                                




We have reserved a block of rooms at the Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center. The group rate is $109/night for a non-smoking room with two queen beds. The Drury is located approximately one mile north of the competition locations, and includes breakfast and evening snacks/beverages. Please make your reservations by February 20, 2015 to receive the discounted rate. Reservations can be made online at - group number 2256288.

Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
88 East Nationwide
(614) 221-7008

Although we do not have a discounted rate at the following hotels, they are located within walking distance to Ohio Statehouse and Supreme Court:

DoubleTree Guest Suites-Columbus
50 S. Front St.
614-228-4600 ext. 195

 Residence Inn by Marriott Columbus Downtown
36 E. Gay St.

 Hyatt Capitol Square
75 E. State St.

 The Columbus, A Renaissance Hotel
50 N. Third St.

 Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square
175 E. Town St.

 Courtyard by Marriott Columbus-Downtown
35 W. Spring St.




  • “The competition is run so smoothly, it is flawless every year. I love the locations of where the competition is held.” – participant  
  • “There were quite a few very talented teams, and the level of competition, on average, was very good. As for the administration of the tournament, I cannot praise you enough. We host a national tournament at our school every year, and I know how much work goes into it. Everything was run extremely professionally. We were all extremely impressed with how well the tournament was administered.” – participant  
  • “It was a wonderful experience throughout. I enjoyed researching and writing the topic. The competition was also exceptionally well organized throughout. Staff members were always very responsive, knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. The locations were really great. Arguing at the statehouse and state supreme court were experiences I will remember forever.” - participant  
  • “Keep up the great work. This competition just gets better every year!” – faculty advisor/coach 
  • “The superb presentations are a reflection of the many, many hours of work that each student put into their presentation. I also appreciate the opportunity to be on the ‘other side’ of the bench which I believe is far more challenging to an attorney than a judge or magistrate who would be hearing just another case, albeit a far better prepared one. I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this event for the third time!” – attorney/judge  
  • “The materials were outstanding. The problem was great and instructions to judges could not [have been] better.” – attorney/judge 



  Baylor Law School (2 Teams)
  Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School (2 Teams)
  Capital University Law School 
  Charlotte School of Law 
  Chicago-Kent College of Law 
  DePaul University College of Law
  Florida Coastal School of Law (2 Teams)
  Florida State University College of Law
  The John Marshall Law School
  Loyola University Chicago School of Law (2 teams)
  The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law (2 Teams)
  Southern Illinois University School of Law (2 Teams)
  Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law (2 Teams)
  Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
  University District of Columbia David A Clarke School of Law
  University of San Diego School of Law (2 Teams) 
  University of Virginia School of Law
  Western State College of Law at Argosy University